• Son et Lumière International School 2019, March 11 -22 2019, in Les Houches, France

    We are pleased to announce you that the Son et Lumière 2019: Wave Interactions at the Nanoscale thematic school will be held in Les Houches from March 11 to 22, 2019.

    This event will be the seventh edition of the Son et Lumière International School dedicated to nanophononics, i.e. the study most often by optical methods, hence the name Son et Lumière (Sound and Light) given to the series of schools ‒ of phonons in nanoscale or nanostructured systems. The two main goals of the school are to provide a detailed overview of this area of ​​research for PhD students and young researchers beginning in this field, and to promote interactions between the different communities (optics, nanoacoustics, nanothermics, optomechanics, ...) that contribute to its development.

    The deadline for submitting applications to attend the school is 15 December 2018. More information on the school is available at https://sel2019.sciencesconf.org/ (or, if necessary, by sending an email to sel2019@sciencesconf.org).

    Covered themes :

    1) Introduction to nanophononics, picosecond acoustics            
    2) Vibrational properties of nano-objects and nanostructures   
    3) Applications of phonons for industry,bioimaging and sensing 
    4) Emerging spectroscopies involving non-visible waves (X-rays, THz)    
    5) Nanoscale thermal transport 
    6) Optomechanics

    Speakers (provisional list):

    - Humphrey Maris (Brown university)   
    - Bernard Perrin (INSP Paris)     
    - Vitaliy Gusev (Le Mans university)       
    - Natalia Del Fatti (iLM Lyon)     
    - Jérémie Margueritat (iLM Lyon)           
    - Jean-Charles Beugnot (Femto-ST Besançon)    
    - Arnaud Devos (IEMN Lille)       
    - Bertrand Audoin (I2M Bordeaux)        
    - V. Ara Apkarian (Irvine university)       
    - Steven Johnson (ETH Zürich)  
    - Eric Collet (IPR Rennes)           
    - David Cahill (Illinois university)            
    - Valentina Giordano (iLM Lyon)             
    - Antoine Heidmann or Pierre-François Cohadon (LKB Paris)      
    - Ivan Favero (MPQ Paris)

    The organizing committee:

    - Matias Bargheer (Postdam Universität)   
    - Aurélien Crut (iLM Lyon)     
    - Yannick Guillet (I2M Bordeaux)       
    - Pascal Ruello (IMM le Mans) 

  • Comments

    No comments yet

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires

    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):